DIY Face Oils

Many people ask me what I use as moisturizer for my face and are surprised when I tell them oil. They think oil clogs pores, but I find cream is just oil emulsified with a bunch of other “stuff” in it that I don’t need. I find cream clogs my pores and makes me break out my skin is so sensitive. Mineral oils like “baby oil” (Don’t use on babies) block pores because they are petroleum by-products that coat skin like a plastic cover and should always be avoided. Only use all natural cold pressed vegetable carrier oils and good quality essential oils and your skin will thank you!

Calendula oil steeping

This article from the untrained housewife is exactly what I use as moisturizer for my face including the essential oils.  http://www.untrainedhousewife.com/making-your-own-face-oils

I like using apricot, peach kernel and jojoba which is really a plant wax because it balances sebum production. It will be nice to add Calendula oil when it is ready. St. john’s wort oil is very healing and good for aches and pains as well as red and irritated faces.

I add essential oils in 1% dilution because the face is a delicate place and caution is always advised. I mainly use frankincense, lavender, geranium and petitgrain. I use chamomile for any redness or irritation. Sometimes I don’t even use essential oils. You can also wipe the oil off after massaging it in gently.

I will never buy face cream again and it is so simple to make yourself. Enjoy!

Recommended Aromatherapy Books:

Maggie Tisserand: Aromatherapy for Women: How to use essential oils for health, beauty and your emotions (Thorsons, 1999)

Marguerite Maury’s Guide to Aromatherapy: The Secret of Life and Youth Random House UK, 2004)

Renee Maurice Gatefosse ~ “The father of Aromatherapy” he coined the term Aromatherapy

His book L’Aromatherapie: Les Huiles Essentielles 1937

1930-40’s Professor Paolo Rovesti

Studied the effects of essential oils on the mind coined the term aromachology.

Jean Valnet- French Doctor- wrote the scientific books

The Practice of Aromatherapy/ Le Pratique of Aromatherapie

Copyright 1980. Reprinted 1993. English Version C.W Daniel Company Ltd 1982

Jean Valnet

The Art of Aromatherapy

Robert Tisserand

Eighteenth Impression. Copyright 1977. Reprinted 1997.

The C.W Daniel Company Ltd England.

L’aromatherapie exactement

Pierre Franchomme, Dr. Daniel Penoel

Dr. Daniel Penoel- http://www.natural-skin-care-info.com/index.html

Advanced Aromatherapy: The Science of Essential Oil Therapy

Kurt Schnaubelt Ph.D. Healing Arts Press

(Chemistry graphs)

Holistic Aromatherapy

Christine Wildwood

Copyright 1986, 1992. Thorsons, An import of Harpers Collins Publishers.

Encyclopedia of Aromatherapy Healing Arts Press. 1996

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Essential Oils.

Julia Lawless

Element books 1995

Aromatherapy and your Emotions & other books

Shirley Price

Thorsons 2000

Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy

Suzanne Catty

Healing Arts Press 2001

Susan Curtis/Neal’s Yard Remedies: Make Your Own Cosmetics (Aurum Press, 1997)

 

2 Trackbacks to “DIY Face Oils”

Leave a Reply

