13 the Natural Order of Time in the Mayan Calendar

20130913-201416.jpg

Why does the number thirteen have such a negative superstitious connotation to it in todays society? Some societies and cultures see the number 13 as being lucky, and having special significance.

Anyone who has studied the Mayan calendar has seen the recurring numbers 13 and 20.

The number 13 is a very important time keeping natural number in the Maya culture.

The Mayan calendar consists of three main calendars that interlock, like gear cogs in a wheel that spin different ways.

HAAB
The Haab, the civil calendar is the solar or sun calendar of 365 days in a year.
18 months of 20 days each for this cycle.

TZOLKIN
The divine calendar, also known as the sacred round, that means division of days to keep track of time to perform ceremonies and celebrations.
Each day is numbered 1-13 and then repeated. The cycle runs
260-day calendar of 20 periods of 13 days.
The day is also given a name or glyph for 20 days.
The Mayan counting system is done by 20’s, instead of our 10 counting system.

THE LONG COUNT
The long count is used to track longer periods of time, that is why it is called the universal cycle.
Each sun cycle has 2,880, 000 about 7758 solar days.

There are 13 tones and 20 glyphs in the Mayan Calendar, each number tone has a meaning and description for the day. The glyphs in the cycle of 20 days have names for each day. Find out what your Mayan name is in the Mayan dreamspell calendar with your free Mayan reading.
http://www.astrodreamadvisor.com/free_mayan_readings.html

20130914-083024.jpg
A piece of the Mayan Calendar in Coba ruins Mexico, Yucatan peninsula.

The Lunar calendar cycle of the moon is 13 full moons, or moon cycles a year, so there should be 13 months instead of twelve months.That is why there is always a blue moon, or two moons in a month in the gregorian or Julian calendar year, which is the current ‘modern’ calendar system.

13 times 28 days in a month = equals 364, + plus one day celebrated out of time = equals 365 days in a year. The moon cycle, which is 13 moons of 28 days, matches the cycle of the tides. This is the natural time of a women’s cycle, and it is a more accurate way to keep time than current calendar systems.

There are more calendars that track the cycle of Venus and Sirius that have survived, but who knows what was destroyed during the bloody conquests from Conquistadors. Only three Maya codex books or codices have survived the intentional decimation.
If this is what has survived, then the pattern may have been that they had a calendar for each of the stars and planets in our solar system. The oldest known astronomical observatory is in Chichen Itza Mexico on the Yucatan peninsula.

20130913-190832.jpg

Other times the number thirteen appears in Mayan time keeping is
13 times 4 = equals 52 weeks in a year.
This is celebrated by having four men on top of a pole swing upside down on a rope, circling 13 times, symbolizing offerings for the year.

20131217-101308.jpg
I took this picture in Mexico, near Tulum Mayan ruins, of The ‘Voladores de Papantla,’ who are Totonac Indians who performed this act. The voladores rite is a traditional act of worship performed to the haunting sounds of drums and a flute. This is one of the first sights seen by invading foreigners.

The numbers 13 and 20 show up a lot in the Mayan calendar, and their time keeping vibration is 13:20.

The Mayan calendar is a more accurate time keeping system than the current Gregorian or Julian calendar. Some cultures and beliefs fear the number 13 and consider it unlucky, especially on Friday the 13th, but for the Maya people it is a number that signifies the natural order of the universe.

http://www.lawoftime.org/home.html

20131217-140324.jpg

22 Responses to “13 the Natural Order of Time in the Mayan Calendar”

  1. Heya! I know this is sort of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website like yours take a large
    amount of work? I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my
    experience and views online. Please let me know
    if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring
    bloggers. Appreciate it!

  2. Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different
    internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.

    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a
    fair price? Thank you, I appreciate it!

  3. Thankѕ very nice blog!

  4. My partner and I stumbled over here from a different
    web page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

  5. Remarkable! Its really amazing post, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this post.

  6. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site
    before but after browsing through some of the post I realized
    it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it
    and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

  7. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you

  8. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an
    extremely neatly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your helpful info.

    Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

  9. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would
    be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new posts.

  10. This site truly has all the information I needed concerning this
    subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  11. Hi there very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful ..
    Superb .. I will bookmark your website and take the
    feeds additionally? I am happy to seek out a lot of helpful information right here within the post, we’d
    like develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  12. Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn.
    This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark
    it and come back to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  13. Good way of telling, and pleasant article to obtain facts
    concerning my presentation focus, which i am going to present in school.

  14. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at
    work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the information you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded
    on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, excellent blog!

  15. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Many thanks, However
    I am having issues with your RSS. I don’t understand why I am
    unable to join it. Is there anyone else getting the same
    RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer wwill you
    kindly respond? Thanks!!

  16. It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  17. I think this is among the most significant info
    for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few
    general things, The web site style is ideal,
    the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  18. Hello! I just want to give you a big thumbs up for the great information you’ve
    got right here on this post. I’ll be returning to your site for more soon.

  19. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.
    You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange
    for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.
    Cheers!

  20. Excellent web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find good quality writing
    like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

